My love for Football

·

4 min read

football.jpg Football is a beautiful game that is watched and enjoyed by people all across the globe. Many people call it football while in the United states they call it soccer, whatever be the name this beautiful sport is always a treat to watch. Here's my story of how I fell in love this game.

I discovered football back in 2008 while I was 10 years ago, in those days Manchester United was all over the news headlines and guess was responsible for it ? You guessed it right ! none other than Cristiano Ronaldo the Golden boy who was winning hearts of everyone with every game he played. And I was no different, I immediately became a Ronaldo fan he's insane dribbling skills, long shoot free kick goals, excellent headers all made me a fan of him and that's how I became a football fan as well. It was also the year of Uefa Euro ( European championship that comes once in four years) and Spain lifted the trophy that year.

The next big thing for me was the 2010 FIFA World Cup, this was the first world cup that I was watching. I was really excited, even though Ronaldo was my favourite I was supporting the German team because of their excellent past record and since I loved their supercool adidas jersey. Portugal crashed out of the tournament but Germany played very good before getting eliminated in the semi finals. In those days octopus Paul was always in the headlines for making accurate match predictions and in the semis he predicted that Germany would loose and oh alas ! He was right. The golden generation of Spain lifted the World cup by beating Netherlands in the final (that Spain squad was a dream team for anybody).

Meanwhile Cristiano Ronaldo was again in headlines, he made move from Manchester united to kings of Europe (Real Madrid) in what was being called as the biggest transfer in the history of football. Even though a lot of Manchester united hearts were broken, this was something very big. And that is how began the arch rivalry of Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, two of the greatest of the game playing for two of the biggest rival teams Real Madrid and FC Barcelona. The El-Classico was the most exciting game every of the every season.

Both the legends shared 10 Ballon d'ors between them, huge fan bases of both of them developed over social media, old records kept breaking while newer ones were being formed. Even today after so many years these two stars continue to rule football.

I also have been playing football since my school days, I always used to be the captain and loved scoring goals for my side, I was passionate about winning every single time. Football is a game that can be played on a bright sunny day, in rain and even while it's snowing. Even though football is not the primary sport in our country, it has still been played by almost everyone at some point of life. The best part is that unlike most of the other games the rules of football are so simple and easy to understand that almost anybody can easily tell who is winning or losing.

For me football isn't limited to just on field playing or watching it on the television, over the years as I developed interest in gaming I started playing video games like FIFA and PES and since I knew who the best ranked players were, I always had an edge over others.

Today football has become such an integral part of my life that if I meet someone new and they tell me that they are a football fan, It becomes really easy for me start a conversation with them and almost end up being a friends with that person. This story knows no end and it can keep going on and on forever (that's how crazy I am about football).

This was my story about a sport that I love, hope you enjoyed reading it. Do you also play or like watching any sport ? Are you also a crazy fan ? Do let me know in the comments !